BOOK REVIEW: Spurgeon’s Sorrows

Standard

Spurgeon’s Sorrows made depression look so normal and acceptable.

Spurgeon's Sorrows

I learned a few things: there are people who are characterized by sadness from the moment they were born; depression can be experienced even by Christians; even in depression, we can consider ourselves blessed; the other side of Charles Spurgeon; God comforts us so we can comfort others; and we experience hardships so we can be better comforters. The book contains a few helps to cope with depression.

I did not find the book interesting. I had to push myself to read it. I’ve even slept a few times while reading it, but it’s an eye-opener. It taught me how to rightfully deal with people who suffer from depression.

I recommend this to people who suffer from depression for you can find a friend in Charles Spurgeon and to people who want to understand and help their loved ones in their depression.

The publisher, Christian Focus, has provided me with a complimentary copy of the book through Cross Focused Reviews.

You can purchase Spurgeon’s Sorrows here:
Amazon.com
Barnes & Noble

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Spurgeon’s Sorrows

I would love to know what you think. . .

