Jeremiah 2 – National Adultery

Standard

let us not drink from broken cisterns

I caught a glimpse of God’s anger in this chapter. Here, God stated how the people of Jerusalem have abandoned Him time and again by worshiping other gods made by human hands. I wish I could say that I’m better than them, but the truth is I can identify with their being idolatrous. There are countless times when I have failed to give God what He alone deserves from me. Despite it all, there’s beauty in this saddening reality. It made me see how gracious and loving our God has been, is and will always be.

On February 18, the latter part of Jeremiah 2:31-32 MSG struck a chord in me:

“But my people forget me. Day after day after day they never give me a thought.”

It dawned on me how hurtful it is for God to be treated like this. Most of the time, we focus on what we feel, the damage others have caused us, and the many times we’ve been unfairly treated. However, this life is not about us. We ought to live this life for the One who gave us all even when all we think of is ourselves.

On February 19, as I read this chapter, I thought of the things that I am guilty of doing even up to date: forsaking the Lord; being indifferent to Him; and not having fear of Him, which can also be found in Jeremiah 2:19 AMP.

This statement in Jeremiah 2:20 AMP struck me: “I will not serve and obey You!” It made me ask: How many times have I indirectly thrown that arrogant line to God? I say one thing and do another. How awful, proud and ungrateful I have been…

“Why do My people say, We have broken loose [we are free and will roam at large]; we will come no more to You?”

The verse (Jeremiah 2:31 AMP) above made me realize how prideful and stupid I become at times to think that I can go on without God. I wonder how He looks at me whenever I do such a thing.

On February 20, as I read Jeremiah 2, I was reminded that no matter how much effort I put into something, I will never succeed if God is not on my side.

On February 21, these are the verses that caught my attention:

Jeremiah 2:19 NASB
“Know therefore and see that it is evil and bitter for you to forsake the Lord your God.”

Jeremiah 2:35 NASB
“I will enter into judgment with you because you say, ‘I have not sinned.'”

I also noticed that there are a lot of questions listed in this chapter; questions from God for the people of Jerusalem as delivered by the Prophet Jeremiah. I believe God was not asking questions because He did not know the answers; instead, He wanted to encourage reflection. He wanted the people to think about the wrong things that they have done despite His goodness to them.
I would love to know what you think. . .

